Solveig Slettahjell – Come In From The Rain (LP)


Disponível por encomenda a fornecedor

REF: 0614427974112 Categorias: , , , Etiquetas: , , , ,


At the beginning of the 2000s, Norwegian singer Solveig Slettahjell and her Slow Motion Quintet made the European jazz scene really sit up and take notice. Her concept, as Canadian critic John Kelman has written, was to take songs from the American songbook and to “slow them down. Way down. […] She proved that slow, powerful and dramatic need not be mutually exclusive terms.” “Come In From The Rain” now demonstrates how much those virtues have strengthened and deepened in the intervening years.

That astonishing ability to concentrate on the essentials of a song – and to express much more with nuances and details than would be possible with volume or bombast – are still Slettahjell trademarks. Together with her companions, Slettahjell captivates the listener from the outset of the opening title track ”Come In From The Rain”. They literally pull us out of the rain into their musical cosmos, introduced by Andreas Ulvo’s wonderful piano touch, the minimalist drum rhythms from Pål Hausken and the grounding yet playful bass of Trygve Waldemar Fiske.

  1. Come In From The Rain ( Melissa Manchester & Carole Bayer Sager)04:20
  2. 2On The Street Where You Live ( Frederick Loewe / Alan Jay Lerner)03:55
  3. 3You’re Driving Me Crazy ( Walter Donaldson)03:01
  4. 4Since I Fell For You ( Buddy Johnson)04:21
  5. 5So I Borrow Your Smile ( Solveig Slettahjell)05:49
  6. 6How Deep Is The Ocean ( Irving Berlin))02:50
  7. 7Now Or Never ( Curtis Reginald Lewis / Billie Holiday)03:20
  8. 8I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City ( Leon René / Johnny Lange)03:03
  9. 9Johnsburg, Illinois ( Tom Waits)04:34
  10. 10Round Midnight ( Thelonious Monk, Cootie Williams & Bernard Hanighen)02:31


Informação adicional


Solveig Slettahjell / vocals
Andreas Ulvo / piano
Trygve Waldemar Fiske / bass
Pål Hausken / drums






Ainda não existem avaliações.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “Solveig Slettahjell – Come In From The Rain (LP)”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.