Maria Callas – Mad Scenes (1958)



Callas did not make complete recordings of Donizetti’s Anna Bolena and Bellini’s Il pirata, though, as the queen of La Scala, she enjoyed triumphs in both roles in 1957–1958. The vocally and dramatically demanding final scenes of both operas feature in this recital with Ophélie’s mad scene from Ambroise Thomas’s Hamlet, another coloratura extravaganza. When this recital first appeared in 1959, Gramophone wrote: ‘This is a most remarkable record, not only for its material … but for its astonishing vividness and dramatic poetry … It has been a thing of much wonder for me.’

 1. Anna Bolena, Act 2: “Piangete voi?…Al dolce guidami castel natio” (Anna Bolena, Smeton, Lord Percy, Hervery, Lord Rochefort, Chorus) – Maria Callas, Monica Sinclair, John Lanigan, Duncan Robertson, Joseph Rouleau, Philharmonia Chorus, Philharmonia Orchestra, Nicola Rescigno
  2. Hamlet, Act 4: “A vos jeux mes amis” (Ophelie) – Maria Callas, Philharmonia Orchestra, Nicola Rescigno
  3. Il Pirata, Act 2: “Oh! s’io potessi” (Imogene) – Maria Callas, Philharmonia Chorus, Philharmonia Orchestra, Nicola Rescigno

Informação adicional


Maria Callas
Philharmonia Chorus & Orchestra, Nicola Rescigno


Warner Classics




Não existem opiniões ainda.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “Maria Callas – Mad Scenes (1958)”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.