Malcolm Arnold – Complete Symphonies and Dances – Centenary Edition


Disponível por encomenda a fornecedor


Complete Symphonies And Dances is an album by M. Arnold, released in 2021. The album is a classical 6-CD.

Recorded in the presence of the composer, Andrew Penny’s survey of the Complete Symphonies and Dances by Sir Malcolm Arnold has long been considered to contain benchmark recordings. Born in 1921, Sir Malcolm Arnold quickly established himself as a fluent and versatile composer, a gifted tunesmith and a brilliant orchestrator. His music is typically lucid in texture, rich in melody and clear in draughtsmanship yet there are frequent signs of a complex musical personality and dramatic tensions not far beneath the surface. The Dances are light-hearted, vivid and jaunty, yet the nine symphonies explore the composer’s darker side, painting a picture of his private ‘journey through hell’ as he struggled with physical and mental health issues. They are masterworks which exert continued appeal and stimulate repeated listening. About Andrew Penny, Conductor Andrew Penny has made over 50 recordings for the Naxos and Marco Polo labels. Much of the repertoire is British music and includes symphonies by Arnold and Havergal Brian, film music by Vaughan Williams and Walton, theatre music by Sullivan and Holbrooke, and light music by Coates and Arnold. His complete cycle of Arnold’s nine symphonies was produced in time for the composer’s 80th birthday in October 2001 and became BBC Music Magazine’s top recommendation. Penny has been on the instrumental music staff at Hymers College since 1977 and is the longest serving musical director of the Hull Philharmonic Orchestra. He was awarded the MBE for services to music in the Queen’s Birthday Honours of 2014.

  • Symphony No. 1, Op. 22
  • Symphony No. 2, Op. 40
  • Symphony No. 3, Op. 63
  • Symphony No. 4, Op. 71
  • Symphony No. 5, Op. 74
  • Symphony No. 6, Op. 95
  • Symphony No. 7, Op. 113
  • Symphony No. 8, Op. 124
  • Symphony No. 9, Op. 128
  • 5-5 Sir Malcolm Arnold In Conversation With Andrew Penny 10:20
  • English Dances, Set 1, Op. 27
  • English Dances, Set 2, Op. 33
  • Four Scottish Dances, Op. 59
  • Four Cornish Dances, Op. 91
  • Four Irish Dances Op. 126
  • Four Welsh Dances, Op. 138

Informação adicional


National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Andrew Penny






Ainda não existem avaliações.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “Malcolm Arnold – Complete Symphonies and Dances – Centenary Edition”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.