I Wonder As I Wander – Beethoven, Schubert, Mahler, Britten


Disponível por encomenda a fornecedor

REF: 7318599924755 Categorias: , Etiquetas: , , , , , ,


When deciding on the repertoire for his début disc, James Newby’s first choice fell on An die ferne Geliebte, songs that he had been performing ever since the beginning of his career. But Beethoven’s song cycle – and perhaps even more so the quasioperatic Adelaide – also sets a tone for the entire disc, that of longing and of wanting to be elsewhere, near the distant beloved. These are emotions that Schubert, perhaps more than any other composer, has plumbed in depth, and Newby went on to select five of his songs that in various ways depict the restlessness and loneliness of the eternal wanderer. Mahler is another composer who knew something about longing – for instance that it can be deadly, which he demonstrated with his Zu Straßburg auf der Schanz, in which a soldier awaits execution after trying to desert to his homeland while the piano imitates the muffled rolling of drums. The military theme continues in the high-strung Revelge, as a young soldier marches towards his death, thinking about his sweetheart with ever-greater desperation. The final song by Mahler, Urlicht, expresses the anguish and pain of earthly life, and the longing for Heaven and, in effect, death. Framing this programme with five folk song arrangements by Benjamin Britten, James Newby and Joseph Middleton, his partner at the piano, explore Man’s never-ending search (geographical or psychological) for that distant object of desire: who, what or wherever it may be.

  • Beethoven: Adelaide, Op. 46
  • Beethoven: An die ferne Geliebte (To the distant beloved), Op. 98
  • Beethoven: Lieder (8), Op. 52
  • Britten: Folksongs Volume 4: Moore’s Irish Melodies
  • Britten: I wonder as I wander
  • Britten: There’s none to soothe
  • Mahler: Revelge (Des Knaben Wunderhorn)
  • Mahler: Urlicht (Des Knaben Wunderhorn)
  • Mahler: Zu Strassburg auf der Schanz (Lieder und Gesänge aus der Jugendzeit)
  • Schubert: Abendstern, D806
  • Schubert: Auf der Donau, D553 (Mayrhofer)
  • Schubert: Der Wanderer, D489
  • Schubert: Der Wanderer, D649 (Friedrich von Schlegel)
  • Schubert: Im Freien D880

Informação adicional


James Newby (baritone), Joseph Middleton (piano)






Ainda não existem avaliações.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “I Wonder As I Wander – Beethoven, Schubert, Mahler, Britten”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.