Count Basie – Basie Swings, Williams Sings + The Greatest


Disponível por encomenda a fornecedor


Count Basie Swings, Joe Williams Sings (Clef MG C-678) was the first album featuring Joe Williams (1918-1999) as the vocalist of the Count Basie orchestra. Basie and Williams’ first real encounter would take place in 1954, and from that year until 1961, Williams remained the singer for the band, rising to national prominence with Basie. “Every Day I Have the Blues”, taped in 1955, was one of his many hit sides (it was added to the Grammy Hall of Fame for recordings of particular historical or qualitative importance in 1992). The complete Basie/Williams LP The Greatest!! Count Basie Plays, Joe Williams Sings Standards (Verve MG V-2016), as well as the only existing alternate take from that album and two further rare collaborations between pianist and singer have been added as a bonus.

  • 01. Every Day (I Have the Blues)
  • 02 The Comeback
  • 03 Alright, Okay, You Win
  • 04 In the Evening (Whenthe Sun Comes Down)
  • 05 Roll’em Pete
  • 06 Teach Me Tonight
  • 07 My Baby Upsets Me
  • 08 Please Send Me Someone to Love
  • 09 Ev’ry Day (I Fall in Love)
  • 10 Thou Swell*
  • 11 There Will Never Be Another You*
  • 12 Our Love Is Here to Stay*
  • 13 ‘S Wonderful*
  • 14 My Baby Just Cares for Me*
  • 15 Nevertheless*
  • 16 Singin’ in the Rain*
  • 17 I’m Beginning to See the Light*
  • 18 A Fine Romance*
  • 19 Come Rain or Come Shine*
  • 20 I Can’t Believe That You’re in Love with Me*
  • 21 This Can’t Be Love*
  • 22 I’m Beginning to See the Light [alt tk]*
  • 23 Stop! Don’t!**
  • 24 As I Love You**

Informação adicional


JOE WILLIAMS, vocals on all tracks
COUNT BASIE & His Orchestra
Wendell Culley, Reunald Jones, Thad Jones, Joe Newman (tp), Henry Coker, Bill Hughes, Benny Powell (tb), Marshall Royal (as, cl), Bill Graham (as), Frank Wess (ts, fl), Frank Foster (ts), Charlie Fowlkes (bar), Count Basie (p), Freddie Green (g), Eddie Jones (b), Sonny Payne (d). Arrangements by Frank Foster & Ernie Wilkins.


Essential Jazz Classics




Ainda não existem avaliações.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “Count Basie – Basie Swings, Williams Sings + The Greatest”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.