Band Apart – Band Apart (LP)


REF: 0876623008019 Categorias: , , Etiquetas: , , ,


Reissue of the complete works of French/American outfit Band Apart, one of the first bands to join the Crammed Discs roster, shortly after the label’s inception. This vinyl reissue comprises the initial EP as well as 5 tracks from the album (while two more album tracks are available in the digital download and streaming versions). All tracks were freshly remastered from the original tapes.

During a meteoric course which lasted around two years, Band Apart made a mark in the bubbling No Wave scene in New York & Europe, yet the duet remains among the era’s unsung heroes.

Consisting of New York-based poet and performance artist Jayne Bliss, and Marseille-based musician/producer M.Mader, Band Apart released a mesmerising, eponymous 4-track EP in 1981, showcasing Jayne’s arresting vocals and lyrics, immersed in the hazy, mysterious atmospheres conjured up by Mader. While being very connected to the time and place of their creation, these songs somehow prefigured some of the music that would appear a decade later (think shoegazing etc).

Band Apart performed shows in New York and Europe, and went on to record a full-length album in 1983, which contained cult favourite tracks such as “O My Beautiful Song” and “Marseille”. Sadly, the band really fell apart shortly after the album’s release.

  1. Jaguar
  2. Strainer
  3. Eve Ryonne
  4. Le Mont des Olives
  5. Marseille
  6. Ham Sandwich
  7. Lover
  8. As I Watch The Train
  9. O My Beautiful Song

Informação adicional


Band Apart


Crammed Discs


Vinyl, LP, Album


Ainda não existem avaliações.

Seja o primeiro a avaliar “Band Apart – Band Apart (LP)”

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Fica a saber como são processados os dados dos comentários.